A d F o n t e s

(Latin: "to the sources")

…Trying…to…get…back…

This blog has been on a virtual hiatus for the last 2 yrs whilst I’ve been in coursework. Well, that’s about to end. One week to go, with 2 papers to finish and 1 final exam. Hopefully after that I will be back in the swing of things.

But here’s what’s new and recent. First, upon completion of these courses, I begin exams. In Columbia’s Classical Studies we have 3 of our own design. Mine are the following: (1) Topics in Roman Social and Economic History from 1st thru 4th c. CE (odd dates) with William Harris; (2) Late Roman Provincial Art with Tally Kampen; and finally Medieval and Early Modern Economic Institutions and Political Economy with Carl Wennerlind. Totally excited about starting this.

But beforehand, in June I’ll be participating in a Roman Economic History symposium hosted by Columbia University’s Center for the Ancient Mediterranean. Afterwards, I should be traveling around Europe, visiting sites and museums I really need to have visited by now. This should be fun. We each have specific topics–mine is use, abuse, and prospect of the so-called Rank Size Rule by historians of the ancient world. I have my data though no paper yet; I’m considering putting forth yet a different paper whose draft is entirely done on the credit economy in the empire.

Anyway, more to come. I hope.

May 3, 2009 Posted by | Academy, Classics | 1 Comment